Posted by: megaschwez | March 26, 2009

RICKROLLD!

This is awesome.

tips article

1. Linz09 and the local ‘Tips’ newspaper hold a competition to write the theme song for the city’s year as cultural capital of Europe

2. A bloke called David Selig wins said competition

3. Selig sends the judges a photo of Rick Astley as his winners’ portrait. RICKROLLD!

Alas, the judges did not recognise its inherent hilarity, and disqualified his ass.

Even more lame, his apology above translates as follows:

‘I didn’t want to hurt anyone – just the opposite, in fact. Unfortunately, this is exactly what has happened. Firstly, I would like to apologise to the entire ‘Tips’ editorial team, also to my mum and to everyone who believed in me and my work on this project. Also, to myself – I would have been very proud to have written the lyrics to the official Linz09 song, and to have contributed something to the project.’

Personally, I would have preferred something more along these lines:

I just wanna tell you how Im feeling
Gotta make you understand

Never gonna give you up
Never gonna let you down
Never gonna run around and desert you
Never gonna make you cry
Never gonna say goodbye
Never gonna tell a lie and hurt you

Responses

  1. ALOL

  2. What a sad story…. this also happened to a friend of mine…. He tells his story here:

  3. Damn it! I didn’t realise the picture would come up! DAMN YOU WORDPRESS.

  4. HAHA! I totally would have fallen for it, too! I can’t believe how gullible i am.


Leave a Reply

Categories

